A Culture of Contribution.

Stradley Ronon has a longstanding tradition of serving the communities in which we work and live. We believe it is our responsibility to make a difference in the lives of those less fortunate — and to create a “culture of contribution” that gives back for generations to come.

Michael Engle

Our Work

Our firm is dedicated to ensuring equitable access to justice. We routinely provide pro bono services to the underrepresented and disenfranchised in a wide variety of areas, including civil rights, custody, property and tax, immigration, and criminal justice. Led by co-chairs Michael Engle and Ashley Shapiro, our pro bono committee identifies matters in which our firm can make a substantial impact, including:

  • Chapter 7 bankruptcy matters.
  • Civil rights litigation, including post-trial relief.
  • Criminal justice and advocacy for prisoners' rights.
  • Domestic violence.
  • Homelessness and housing.
  • Legal advocacy for children.
  • Obtaining asylum and special immigration juvenile status.
  • Small businesses and nonprofits, providing advice on tax-related issues.

Our Impact

Pro Bono
Partner Mike Engle, co-chair of Stradley Ronon’s pro bono committee, left, with client Bruce Murray, who spent more than four decades in prison for a crime he did not commit.

Our Recognitions

2024 Martin Luther King, Jr. Freedom Medal
Partner David Roeber, center, receives the 2024 Martin Luther King, Jr. Freedom Medal from Camden County, New Jersey.

Our Partnerships

Pro Bono Fair
Our Pro Bono Fair events allow Stradley Ronon lawyers, alumni and clients to learn more about the firm’s regional pro bono partners and the significant value they provide for their respective local communities.

In ensuring we broaden our reach in advocating for low-income populations, our firm cultivates and maintains partnerships with pro bono legal services organizations across the United States, including:

Our Team

Pro Bono Committee Co-Chairs:

Michael Engle
Ashley Shapiro

Pro Bono Liaisons:

Lara Burke
Shawn Hendricks
David Roeber
Brian Seaman
Lauren Sweeney